Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

15.10.2011 J4 XV v Blackrock (H)

15.10.2011 J4 XV v Blackrock (H)

Share This Post

15/10/20113:00pmLeagueSt. Marys J4 XV43 – 12Blackrock CollegeHome

St Marys 43 Blackrock 12

Another tremendous win by the J4’s against an experienced and determined Blackrock side which included Heineken Cup winner Michael Jackson (Ulster) in the backline! The match saw the return of Shane Cunningham to the side after a few years away and he didn’t disappoint scoring two tries and setting up full back Paul Whyte for the opening score. Prior to this try we had endured 20 minutes of sustained Rock pressure on our line but thanks to some valiant defending and over-zealous passes from Blackrock the door to the line remained firmly shut.

After the first try our backline really got moving and allied with the dominance ofthe pack we began to take full control of the game. Further tries followed from wingers Richie Pyne and Shane Cunningham with two of the three being converted by Ted to leave the score at 19-0 at half time.

The second half was more of the same and after a simple penalty from Ted made it 22-0, Rock finally found a way past the Marys defence to make the score 22-5.  Not to be hauled back into any sort of dog fight the pack secured the ball and the backs did their thing once again and we were 29-5 up before going 36-5 up through tries from captain Darragh O’Neill and Shane Cunningham. Rock hit back with a converted try before Richie “Robocop” Pyne powered throughseveral tackles before dotting down near the posts. Ted converted to make it 6 from 7 on the day and in his own words “Keep his stats up”. Captain on the day Darragh O’Neill took the man of the match honours with a dazzling display of skills and powerful running. 

Next up is Greystones  Away RFC in a mini group top of the table clash on Sat at 3pm in Dr Hickey Park.

Team:   1. Alan Godfrey 2. William Andreucetti 3. Eamon Moran 4. Joe Doddy 5. John Twomey 6. Padriag Lalor 7. Tim Henderson 8. Phil Conway

       9. Ross Wynne 10. Ted Moran 11. Richie Pyne 12. Stephen Muldowney 13. Darragh O’Neill 14. Shane Cunningham 15. Paul Whyte

       Subs – 16. Dave Williams 17. Nick Cunningham 18. Ronan O’Donnell

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top