Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

14.05.2011 D.P. Smyth J5 Blitz

14.05.2011 D.P. Smyth J5 Blitz

Share This Post

14/05/201112:00pmCupSt. Marys J5 XV0 – 0D.P. Smyth J5 BlitzHome

D.P. Smyth J5 Blitz 2011

On Saturday the 2011 D.P. Smyth J5 Blitz took place in Templeville Road. The mixed weather did not dampen the spirits of the five teams taking part. They were hosts St Mary’s College RFC, Terenure, Tallaght, DLSP and CYM.

The pool games were very competitive, with the local Dublin 6W Neighbours making it to the final once again. This was a strongly fought match. An early try by Terenure proved to be the winning score of the game and see them take the 2011 Title.

Two grandson’s of D.P. Smyth, Colin Smyth and Alan Godfrey, who both played for St Mary’s on the day, were on hand to present the cup to Terenure.

It proved to be an enjoyable and successful competition in 2011. The 2012 Competition is already eagerly being looked forward to.

J5 Team:

15 Olan Cleary

14 Chris Doyle

13 Caolan Smith

12 Richard Pyne

11 Stephen Cushen

10 Andy Fitzpatrick

9 Ciaran Murphy

8 Paul Travers

7 James Hynes

6 Anthony O’Hanlon

5 David Browne

4 Maurice Davin

3 Alan Godfrey

2 Steve Walkin

1 Colin Smyth

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top