Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

02.04.2011 J2 XV v Lansdowne (H)

02.04.2011 J2 XV v Lansdowne (H)

Share This Post

02/04/20113:00pmCupSt. Marys J2 XV18 – 8LansdowneHome

Albert O’Connell Cup
St. Mary’s J2 18 Lansdowne J2 8

The J2’s repeated their league win last week over the same opposition with a commanding performance in the cup. A heavy injury list from the attritional win last time meant we had to rely on the Under 21’s, the J3’s and a cameo from J2 legend Alan Conboy.

Under 21 coach Hugh Hogan was extremely helpful all week (as he has been all year) and we were bolstered by Chris Lillie, Darragh Kelleher, Mark Fallon, Sean Preston and David Callanan. All were excellent and contributed superbly to our win. Particular thanks to David Callanan who literally got out of his sick bed at 1pm on Saturday to fill the crucial hooker role and he performed very well. Thanks also to Brendan Short and Michael Craig of the J3’s and Graham Crawford of the J1’s who also turned out.

At half time were 8 nil down but had played into a very strong wind. We didn’t panic and patiently took them through the phases in the second half leading to scores by Barry Cahill and Mark Fallon. Alan Shirley kicked two penalties and a conversion.  

Stephen Shirley.

15. A Conboy  14. G Crawford 13. J Buggy 12. A Shirley 11. B Cahill 10. J Connolly 9. C Lillie 1. M Houlihan (C) 2. D Callanan 3. R Goode 4. G McInerney 5. E Keane 6. P Foran  8. G Foran 7. R Ryan
 Subs: S Preston, B Short, M Fallon, D Kelleher and M Craig.

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top