Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

28.01.2012 J4 B XV v Normans (A)

28.01.2012 J4 B XV v Normans (A)

Share This Post

28/01/20122:30pmLeagueNormans RFC3 – 25St. Marys J4 B XVAway

St. Marys J4 B V Kilkenny Normans

St. Marys travelled to the far end of Leinster to take on newcomers Kilkenny Normans. A spirited side who are newly formed, Marys were given access to the village hall (Kiltopher) to change. The away side were determined to come away with a victory.

The Normans have developed a good fan out defence which was easy on their narrow pitch. The St. Marys forwards were dominant throughout the first half winning turnover lineout ball and winning the collisions up front. Lead by Eamo and helped by Walkin, Jimbo and Beef they took the game to the Normans and Marys dominated possession and territory. A few uncharacteristic handling errors meant the score board didn’t reflect this dominance. Out half Daly got a penalty but two more went astray. In their first time over the half way line the Normans were awarded a penalty and converted. This was the catalyst to the Marys team to up the intensity and they took the game to the Normans. Full back Ryan Barnes crossing for a good try. 8-3 Half time.

In the second half, Marys played with the hill. Tries from Gav (setup by yours truly) and Eamo sealed the game for Marys. Coach Aido came on to kick a conversion in place of the injured Daly. Final score 25 – 3. Credit must go to the Normans who supplied dinners to the Marys team after the game.


More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top