Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

22.10.2011 J2 XV v Old Belvedere (A)

22.10.2011 J2 XV v Old Belvedere (A)

Share This Post

22/10/20113:00pmLeagueOld Belvedere3 – 10St. Marys J2 XVAway

Old Belvedere J2 3 St. Mary’s J2 10

A very tough game against strong opponents. Playing with the wind in the first half we dominated but failed to score a point. Alan Shirley and Richard Kilcoyne had to come off early due to injury but Ciarán Murphy and Dara O’Kelly did a great job when they came on. At half time we knew we had to raise the intensity of our play to keep the ball into the wind. We did just that and played very well, using pick and go’s and close in runners. The decisive score came when O’Kelly timed his pass perfectly to Barry Cahill who made yards into the Belvo half. He then off loaded to Mucker who spun the ball wide to Louis Burke at first receiver. Louis dummied and stepped and made it over the line from 30 metres out. A class try and enough to get us a vital win.

Stephen Shirley.

15. B Cahill  14. RKilcoyne 13. J Buggy 12. S Walsh 11. N. Sheedy 10. A. Shirley 9. E Mucker 1. G Mckay 2. P Barrett 3. JMolloy 4. G McInerney (c) 5. R. Lennon 6. P Foran  7. C Barry 8. Louis Burke.
 Subs: D. O’Kelly, C. Murphy, D. Callanan, B. Moran, B Short

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top