Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

20.02.2010 J2 XV v Clontarf (A)

20.02.2010 J2 XV v Clontarf (A)

Share This Post

20/02/20103.00pmLeagueClontarf19 – 8St. Marys J2 XVAway

Clontarf J2 19 St Mary’s J2 8

The J2’s went out fighting against Clontarf on Saturday but could not stop them taking our league title. Clontarf have a massive team of ex-firsts players who keep it tight and grind away with their rolling maul until they pick off penalties and eventually break you down. In fairness they are very good at it and deserved to win the match. However, it was a great effort by us, with every man putting his body on the line in a brutal match of big hits, savage rucking and great intensity. We had our chances to score in the first half but little things went against us and they kicked their goals and scored their only try off a turnover. We kept battling away and Ollie McCormack went over for a great try towards the end. It was hard to begrudge Clontarf their first league title since 1972 and we look forward to defending our cup on the harder grounds in April.

Great credit to Manager Derek Gately, Assistant Manager Mick O’Connor, Captain Mikey Houlihan and Coaches Colm Barry and Alan Shirley for a great league campaign.

Next up is a trip to London to lick our wounds!

15. Neil Cowhey  14. G Crawford 13. A Shirley 12. G Crawford 11. J Dunne 10. J Connolly 9. E Mucker 1. P Collins 2. O Mucker 3. M Houlihan (capt) 4. G McInerney 5. E Keane 6. K Lannon 8. L Burke 7. R Ryan
Subs: J Ardagh, S Walsh, P Barrett, B Brophy, S Timmons – all used.

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top