Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

10.01.2009 J5 XV v Tallaght (A)

10.01.2009 J5 XV v Tallaght (A)

Share This Post

10/01/20092.30pmLeagueTallaght10 – 17St. Marys J5 XVAway

St.Mary’s J5s 17-10 Tallaght

An assured performance from St.Mary’s saw the lads claim their first victory of a difficult season, in a windswept Kiltipper on Saturday afternoon. Despite playing against a veritable hurricane in the first half, the Saints managed to hold a physical tallaght side to a mere ten points return for their climatic advantage. When the balletic David Cryan danced his way through the homeside’s defence to touch down just before the break and Adrian Malone duly converted from an almost impossible angle, you could sense that the psychological advantage was very much with the visitors. The second half was played almost entirely in the the Tallaght twenty-two and the dominance of the Mary’s pack was something to behold.They were eventually rewarded for their endeavours with a penalty from the impeccable Malone to tie up the game. Thereafter the game became a battle for victory. A series of sniping runs and battering line breaks breached the homeside’s defensive wall as Ross Martin powered over for the decisive score. Malone added the supplimentary two and “Mossy’s Mob” marched off the field victorious.

15 Michael Doyle
14 Adrian Malone
13 Simone Maraschi
12 Andy Fitzpatrick (replaced by Shane Walsh 60 mins)
11 Shane Levins
10 Gary Crawford
9 Kieran Morrissey
8 Ian McCormack (replaced by Ross Martin 20 mins)
7 James Hynes
6 Maurice Davin
5 Eamonn Walsh (replaced by Colum O’Keeffe 65 mins)
4 Anthony O’Hanlon
3 David Cryan
2 Hugh Lyons
1 Mark Byrne

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top