02.04.2011 J5 XV v Stillorgan (A)

02/04/20111:00pmLeagueStillorgan9 – 25St. Marys J5 XVAway

The J5’s took the pitch on Saturday knowing a win would secure the league title for Mary’s however the team was slow to start and against the run of play Shane Hourigan scored a try from a suspiciously offside position. Crawford tagged on the conversion and a further two penalties during the first half giving Mary the lead going into the break.

Stillorgan were still in touch but after the break Mary.s began to exert some pressure leading to a penalty in the opening minutes. Through indiscipline however Marys were continually getting pinged around the ruck and it was Kieran Morrissey who was given a yellow card after bravely putting his body on the line to help distressed team-mate Jody Brooks aka “people”. With Stillorgan still within striking distance of a notable win it came down to some great play by Caolan Smith who then offloaded superbly to Dave Sheedy who finished well in the corner. Suspicions of double-movement were murmered amongst the spectators however following a brief discussion with the tmo the try was given.

Following his ten-minute cooling of period Kieran Morrissey came back onto the pitch fueled by anger and rage which had been building up over the preceding  ten minute period. Bursting through the Stillorgan defence he point blankly refused to pass to supporting players as he has been known to do over the course of the league and finished under the posts with a poor Chris Ashton imitation swan dive while his fellow players looked away in disgust….especially Browner who for some reason was even more disgusted than the rest of us.

So it finished 25-9, Marys have one more game at home on Thursday night against a tough Tallaght outfit. The knowledge of a final home game at night time with the opportunity to finish on a high should hopefully see a performance fit to end a championship winning season. 

Try – Shane Hourigan, David Sheedy and Kieran Morrissey.
Conv – Gary Crawford (2).
Pens –  Gary Crawford (2).

15 Daniel McEvoy
14 David Millard
13 Kieran Morrissey
12 Shane Hourigan
11 David Sheedy
10 Andy Fitzpatrick
9 Gary Crawford
8 Caolan Reid
7 Anthony O’Hanlon
6 Jody Brooks
5 Darragh Coffey
4 Mark Byrne
3 David Browne
2 Hugh Lyons
1 Steve Walkin

16 James Nolan, 17 Maurice Davin, 18 Chris Doyle, 19 Caolan Reid and 20 Adrian Malone.