04.10.2008 J2 XV v Terenure (H)

04/10/20082:30pmLeagueSt. Marys J2 XV17 – 7TerenureHome

St. Mary’s College RFC J2    V    Terenure College RFC J2
17                                        07
4th October 2008

Revenge was sweet for the J2’s on Saturday, beating our arch rivals and last years champions Terenure. The foundation for the win was built on a superb first half performance, especially from the pack. Luckily captain Rob Ryan won the toss and choose to play into the very strong wind. With memories of last years league final defeat, at the hands of the same opposition still fresh in our minds, the pack tore into terenure from the first whistle. Using Smart pick and go tactics and using runners close in off 9 and 10 , we managed to make huge inroads in the nure defence. Considering the new rule of being allowed take down mauls it was amazing that our three scores in the first half came from catch and drives, great control and patient buildups were the key, Rob Ryan and Brian Moran were at the back of two and mikey Houlihan showing great strength to power over from another maul after it broke up. Even though we went into the break 17-0 ahead we still knew that Terenure would put it up to us in the second half. As expected they came at us at 100mph and for most the second half they dominated possession however we limited them to only seven points and denied them the losing bonus point. The commitment and effort the lads showed for the 80minutes was amazing and it was a well deserved win, with special mention going to Graham Foran and Paul Collins tireless work up front and Jason Verdon at 12 who looks back to his best. Wins against Rock and Terenure in the first two weeks is a great start but feet need to be firmly planted with Traf approaching next week, it doesn’t get any easier!

Team: 15. Gary Roche, 14 Jack Buggy, 13 Al Shirley (Brian McNamara 75mins), 12 Jason Verdon, 11 Alan Harrisson, 10 Joey Connolly 9 Eoin McCormack, 8 Padraig Lawlor (Shane Timmons 10Mins), 7 Barry O’flanagan, 6 Rob Ryan, 5 Graham Foran, 4 Greame McInerney, 3 Paul Collins (Kenny McInerney 75 mins), 2 Brian Moran, 1 Mikey Houlihan