Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

13.02.2010 J2 XV v Blackrock (H)

13.02.2010 J2 XV v Blackrock (H)

Share This Post

13/02/20101.00pmLeagueSt. Marys J2 XV59 – 0Blackrock CollegeHome

J 2 Match Report

St Mary’s J2 59 Blackrock J2 0

For the third year in a row this team goes to the last game of the league series with the title still up for grabs. We needed a huge win over Rock to wipe out Clontarf’s big points difference and we delivered in style. Adopting the legendary Mary’s method of running fast ball if and when it was on from anywhere on the pitch we scored 9 tries of varying degrees of brilliance (note our 5 flankers making up our back 5 in the scrum). James Dunne continued his try scoring bonanza with a hat-trick and Shane Timmons gave a masterclass at openside flanker also scoring a hat-trick of tries in an unbelievable performance. This kid has wheels!! Other scorers were Graham Crawford, Gonza Saenz and Joey Connolly (with a typical stroke of genius).

Thanks to Ruaidhri and the J3’s who gave us great support with Edgie playing a blinder at prop, Gonza scoring a crucial try after half-time, Mark Browne doing very well on the wing and Timmons taking the mick with his crazy hat-trick.

We now go to Clontarf next Saturday needing a bonus point win to defend our title. Carpe Diem!!

Stephen Shirley
15. James Dunne  14. G Crawford 13. A Shirley 12. J Verdon 11. B Cahill 10. J Connolly 9. E Mucker 1. P Collins 2. B Moran 3. G Edgeworth 4. B Brophy 5. R Ryan 6. K Lannon 8. L Burke 7. S Timmons
Subs: J Ardagh, S Walsh, G Saenz, M Browne – all used.

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top