Welcome to St. Mary's College RFC

04.04.2009 J2 XV v Wanderers (H)

04.04.2009 J2 XV v Wanderers (H)

Share This Post

04/04/20093.00pmCupSt. Marys J2 XV20 – 10WanderersHome

Wanderers V St Mary’s College

10                 20

O’Connell Cup

The quarter finals of any cup is always going to be a tough game and this was no exception. Wanderers brought a good cup side to templeville last Saturday and we knew we were in a game from the first minute. The game started at a frantic pace with both sides enjoying good possession. With a strong wind behind them in the first half wanderers generally had us pinned in our own 22 and we were forced to run it out and try and keep possession, this actually resulted in a try against us. We tried to run off the back of a scrum just outside our 22, unfortunately the ball didn’t go to hand and the wanderers center intercepted to run under the posts. Some questionable refereeing decisions then resulted in another 3 points for Wanderers and we were in a position that we had not been in the whole season 10 points behind.

In fairness to the lads we rallied well and really should have been ahead at the end of the first half but we managed to waste a lot of good try scoring opportunities after good build up play. With a few calming words at half time we started the second half well. Our first score came after we built a couple of good phases around the fringes and when the ball went wide Barry Cahill had the speed to round his man. A few minutes later Barry again rounded the cover off after a lovely break up the middle from out half joey Connolly set up the platform. Joey added a penalty and we were on top until the end but could not manage another score. Again we were guilty of turning over ball at the last minute when the line was in sight, this was very frustrating for all and we know we wont get the same amount of opportunities in the semi’s. Still the double march goes on!

15. Gary Roche (Alan Conboy) 14. Jack Buggy 13. Barry Cahill (Jack Ardagh) 12. Jason Verdon 11. Alan Harrison 10. Joey Connolly 9. Eoin McCormack 8. Kev Gallivan 7. Killian Lannen ( Joe Slowey) 6. Rob Ryan (Karl O’Brien) 5. Graham Foran 4. Greame  McInerney 3. Kenny McInerney ( Paul Collins) 2. Brian Moran 1. Mikey Houlihan

More To Explore

1st XV v City of Armagh (A) by D. o’Brien – 04.03.23

City of Armagh R F C V St Mary’s College RFC 23                                               20 Energia AIL Division 1B The Palace Grounds Saturday 4th March 2023. Overall Exactly this day last year, we came

J1 XV v Monkstown (H) by D. O’Brien – 26.02.23

St Mary’s College RFC J1 V Monkstown FC 26                                35 Metropolitan Cup Sunday 26th February 2023.   Overall This is an old, esteemed and much-desired Leinster competition, won 11 times by St Marys.  It was first won in 1940, and last won in 2013, ten years ago.  We are obviously not going to win it

Scroll to Top